Pumpkin Granola

IMG_3076

So I had a little pumpkin puree left over after making pumpkin muffins and I did not want it to go to waste, so I concocted a pumpkin granola from the contents of my cabinets. Granola is one of my favorite improvised kitchen experiments. It’s very simple as long as you follow a basic formula: dry ingredients + wet ingredients. So simple! The dry ingredients can be any combination of nuts, seeds, grains, spices and dried fruit. The wet ingredients usually consist of an oil (I like coconut) and a sweetener (honey, maple syrup, agave).  I tend to use what I have lying around, unless I’m using a specific recipe.  I added some of the pumpkin puree to the wet ingredients for some nice fall flavor.

Here’s what I did, but feel free to add, remove, adjust the ingredients to your liking. The more you experiment without using a recipe, the better you will get.

Dry ingredients:

1 cup oats

1/2 cup chopped almonds

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1/4 cup pumpkin seeds

1/4 cup sunflower seeds

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp cinnamon

Wet ingredients: 

1 tbsp coconut oil melted

1/4 cup maple syrup

1/4 cup pumpkin puree

Directions: Preheat oven to 250 degrees. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl, combine wet ingredients in a separate bowl. Slowly add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, stir so incorporate all the way through. Spoon the mixture into a baking dish or lined cookie sheet. Bake under a low heat for approximately 15-20 minutes, or until it is as toasted as you want it. Some granola is crunchier than others, depending on the wet ingredients and the baking time. I found that using pumpkin made the granola more soft than crunchy if that’s what you like.

IMG_3075

Leave a Reply

