Essential Oils Introduction

I have recently been introduced to using essential oils for a number of physical and mental benefits. My first thought was: WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL MY LIFE?

First let me begin by saying I do not work for an essential oils company and I don’t make any money for promoting them. I’m just a person who uses them, and LOVES them! I have found that on my wellness crusade, these little guys have boosted my energy, enhanced my mood, calmed my racing mind, eased physical pain and inspired further educating myself on plant based medicine.

While my boyfriend is a doctor of western medicine, I happen to be more on the side of eastern traditions and natural medicine when I can. If I can address a problem first in the most natural way, then I will. That is why I love these oils so much. I believe that for the most part nature provides us with what we need. What is important to keep in mind with essential oils is the quality. Unfortunately the kinds you buy in the health food store are not the highest grade and may contain other chemicals. They should not be used directly on the skin or ingested. The essential oils that I use (Young Living) are therapuric grade and organically grown and produced. They can be used aromatically, topically and internally. My two favorites are lavender and peppermint.

peppermint-essential-oil 2

Peppermint and lavender oils seem to be the bread and butter (or should I say Kale and Quinoa) of your essential oil repertoire. They can pretty much be used for any malady or complaint. Peppermint can be used on the skin diluted in a carrier oil or neat, as well as ingested. Topically I use peppermint on my temples, forehead and neck for headaches or tension pain after a long day, as well as soothing sunburn and reducing fever. It’s also used to help aid digestive pain and nausea when rubbed on the stomach or ingested in water. Inhale for congestion, mental clarity, waking up, and to boost energy. The list goes on.

Young-Living-Lavender-essential-oil

While lavender is typically used for it’s calming and soothing effect, it is also great on cuts, bruises, and burns to reduce swelling and infection. I use it on my skin every night to reduce redness, scarring and to help me sleep. It can also be used in a bath to relax and detox, promote lash growth when combined with mascara, soothe itchy bug bites and to control dandruff. Again, there are many more I am not naming here. Pinterest has endless idea for use of these oils. Contact me directly if you would like to know more. Otherwise check back for more posts about these wonderful oils in the future.

Leave a Reply

